Lower Body Training

Thank goodness this was the last session of my current cycle – I’ve *so* had enough of lifting at 90% of my 1RM – it’s tough!

We deload now, recalculate our 1RM and start again from 75% – I’ve never felt so happy to be squatting 66.5kg  😀

How about this amazing weather we’ve been having?

I was sat on the bus on the way home from work last week, crawling along in traffic, sweltering, with no air conditioning and feeling utterly miserable. I decided there and then to walk to work the next day. Why not make the most of the gorgeous weather whilst it lasts?

So for three days this week, I walked to work and yesterday, I walked there AND back 🙂

beach2

I actually hit the beach yesterday for the first time since last year. I was a bit nervous about putting on my bikini again as I’m about half a stone or so heavier than I was this time last year and for the past few months, I’ve been striving to “get back to what I looked like then”.

In the end, I thought sod it, put it on and got my tan on. I took a couple of pictures and it was only when I compared them to me last year I realised that I actually look *better* than I did!

2012 vs 2013

 

There isn’t a great difference in levels of leanness but there is a HUGE difference in my body shape! I posted the above picture to my instagram and a guy commented on it saying “nice quads. you squat” – damn well made my day!

But what made my day even more was when I compared my latest picture to one of me two years ago…

2 year progressWOW! It’s only when I compare these photos that I see how far I’ve really come. I feel extremely proud of myself!

Anyway, on to today’s workout. We must have been mental choosing to train legs on such a hot day. The gym was sweltering and my gym gear was saturated by the time I’d finished!

Warm Up:

Foam rolling – quads, calves, piriformis
Dynamic hip flexor stretches
Hip opening exercises
Forward leg swings
Third world squat
Third world squat to stand

Squats:

20kg x5
40kg x5
60kg x3
81kg x3
81kg x3
81kg x3

These were TOUGH! I’m so happy that this 90% cycle is over. I also have to wear a full t-shirt for squatting from now on – my back was sweating and the bar was slipping – eek!

Stiff Leg Deadlifts:

40kg x6
65kg x8
65kg x8

I can really feel the difference now I’m focusing locking out using the glutes at the top *thumbs up*

Leg Press:

130kg x5
205kg x8
195kg x6

*fist pump* I am so happy to have made all 8 reps! I dropped two reps on my second set but I don’t really care – I pushed 205kg for 8 reps 😀 Weight up next session.

Lying Leg Curls:

25kg x6
40kg x7
35kg x8

Standing Calf Raise:

240kg x10
240kg x10

Weight to go up next time 🙂

Seated Calf Raise:

52.5kg x10
50kg x9

Didn’t realise til I came to write in my book that I should have put this weight up today – damn it!

I have to say, before I even started tonight’s session I was already sore – the walking has made my glutes ache so badly! Who would have thought that walking would hit the glutes like that? I do make sure to walk very briskly and  take big strides – it only takes me 45 minutes to walk the 3.2 miles.

I’m back to the beach tomorrow – hurrah! Long may this beautiful weather last. Have an awesome weekend folks 🙂

Leave a Reply

